Day: March 16, 2016

Iron Sword Model

Also as part of our portfolio builder I decided toi model a sword. This sword will be based off the “Iron Sword” from The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim.

iron_sword

I created the model the same way I created my L85A2 model. Through plane-image modelling, where you put the image on a plane and model around it. But it does come with some drawbacks. Your model tends to have the same width throughout thus looking unprofessional and blocky. This is what happened in my case. I textured it  before finishing the model, which can be easily fixed, but you should finish the model before texturing in the future. Here is my model:

Capture

The texture is from the in-game files, this is because I cannot texture at all and I wanted my model to actually look good.

 

L85A2 Model

As part of my portfolio builder I have decided to model a gun and a sword. The gun is an l85A2. It is a rifle variant of the SA80 family and has been the standard issue service rifle for the British armed forces since 1987. Here is the model:

Capture

The model has 401 polygons and 568 vertices. This is quite low considering a model of this detail. Speaking of detail, I tried to keep it as realistic and low-poly as possible. I had to compromise a bit to add more depth to the model with the cost of more polygons.

The iron sights of the weapon are also accurate. As shown in these pictures:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Instead of the model looking the same size consistently, I decided to change the dimensions of some parts. For example, the magazine is smaller than the socket it goes in, the handle is smaller so it is more ergonomic in the hand, and the hand rest at the front of the gun near the barrel is also bigger. This adds more detail and depth to the model, as well as looking more professional while adding no more polygons.